Hoody Ballerina: born to be a dancer

Oxford Road, Manchester, April 26th, 2012. Wettest. Drought. Ever.

I’ve been keeping an eye on this puddle for three days, after I saw a young man leap over it. It poured heavily during the afternoon, making the puddle big enough to allow the true athletes to emerge.

Did I say athletes? This guy was born to be a dancer. Meet the Hoody Ballerina, everyone.

That has got to be the best shot I’ve taken in a while. Even the kid in the background is posing.

I’m not kidding when I say it was proper wet out there.

Observe the Mancunian Umbrella in it’s usual configuration – i.e., crumpled and looking rather sorry for itself:

ISO bumped to 800 in that last shot, 400 in the first three. The camera copes reasonably well, to a point. I don’t mind a slightly grainy look, but I like to have options. In that last shot I have no options: shot in .jpeg, that image is going to be grainy, period. I reckon that’s about as far as I be comfortable going on the camera’s ISO.

___

Let me top this off with a public service amount. You can now get in touch with us via Google+ (through individual profiles), or via the Oblique Exposure Facebook site. You can find the links of the bottom of the post. Feel free to drop by and say hello.

Jenny and I are off to Nothumbria this weekend, for a complete washout couple of days out. We’re also shooting a surprise camera for the first time. What is it? Well, here’s a couple of clues: it says “Made in German Democratic Republic” on the bottom (so you know it shoots film), and it’s an SLR. Any clues? Answers on the back of a postcard!

This entry was posted by cemferreira.

2 thoughts on “Hoody Ballerina: born to be a dancer

  1. Praktica ist ursprünglich der Markenname für eine Baureihe von Spiegelreflexkameras des Herstellers VEB Kamera-Werke Niedersedlitz (“KW”) der von Pentacon, Dresden, übernommen wurde.

Leave a comment