Three hours in Florence

So on my way back from Prato I had a few hours to spare in Florence (either that or sit in the airport), so I decided to make the most of it and explore the city. This is a bit of a long blog post – I actually ended up taking a lot of photographs despite the short amount of time.

IMG_8064

Florence Italy FirenzeThe crowds of tourists soon began to gather in the square by the cathedral. This was actually when the city was quite quiet, when I passed through here at about 11am later that morning it was actually quite difficult to move across. I would definitely recommend starting early if you want to avoid the crowds. Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

 

The Basilica di Santa Maria del Fiore, the main cthedral in FLorence is beautiful. It’s not difficult to see why the centre of Florence is UNESCO World Heritage Site. Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

There were so many places with amazing biscuits, cake, pastries and a whole host of other sweet treats. I’d already bought a rather large amount of biscotti from Prato so I resisted buying more from Florence too. Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

I remember when we were in Rome that there were often a lot of road signs which had been amended with various artistic interpretations – this time with a pigeon.Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze


Florence Italy Firenze

Since I had a limited amount of time I got hold of a map and planned a route that I thought would take me about an hour to walk  – from the main train station to Piazzale Michelangelo. This took me past the main cathedral, over the river Arno and up a steep hill to get a great view over the city. 
Florence Italy Firenze

There were quite a lot of steps up the Piazzale Michelangelo, but it was definitely worth it. Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

And this was the view. I would love to have been here to see the sunset over the Tuscan hills.
Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Of course there was also the obligatory tourist souvenir sellers more or less everywhere near the tourist sites – although some of the artists in this area did produce some beautiful paintings. Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Italy is famous for its gelato. I tried the one on the right in this picture, with a waffle cone. This was by far the nicest ice cream I have ever had. This ended up being my lunch! Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze Florence Italy Firenze Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy Firenze

Florence Italy FirenzeI may only have had a short time in Florence but I managed to see some of the many beautiful sights. I have already told Carlos that we will have to visit Florence properly in the future!

 

 

This entry was posted by Jennifer Ferreira.

Leave a Reply

