WWI Remembrance: Godiva Awakes (I)

With the 100th anniversary of the beginning of World War I, there have been remembrance services all over Britain. The passing of 100 years since the start of the Great War has taken away none of the poignancy of what happened.

Godiva Awakes I

The most touching of such moments was, for me, something we stumbled into. Godiva Awakes, a street art collective, held three events in the grounds of the old Coventry Cathedral – the same that was destroyed by the World War II bombings. It was a majestic, emotional spectacle, which reduced me to tears twice.

Godiva Awakes 2

The actress in the foreground represented the War Brides. Godiva is the (enormous!) mechanical figure in the background. At the time I thought she represented England.

Godiva Awakes 3Incidentally, if you are interested in the story of the original Lady Godiva, nudie bits and all, I recommend a visit to Coventry’s Herbert Art Gallery & Museum. Please note that when I say nudie bits, all the materials are family friendly…

Godiva Awakes 4There will be four more shots I’d like to share from this piece. These were very close to my heart, and relate to story I learned about when we visited to Hiroshima, earlier in the year.

 

This entry was posted by Carlos Ferreira.

Leave a Reply

