Keyboard demons and a winged angel on a bridge

It’s been – again – a long few weeks, with not much time for photography at all. There are probably around 50 photos just sitting in my LX3’s card, which have been there for a good two weeks at least, and my 1100D must be feeling pretty neglected – I can’t remember the last time I took it out. I don’t even know if there are any photos to develop in its card at all. It’s just a phase, of course. Work has taken over big time, and the only way out of a PhD is to work harder. The other half of Oblique Exposure knows this all too well, and so do I.

The other reason why everything is a bit slow has to do with my workflow. I’m converting to Lightroom, after more than a year of jumping between RAWTherapee, Canon Digital Photo Professional and SilkyPix, and there is an inherent cost, in terms of time and energy, to doing so – so bear with me while I try to figure out what it does.

Here is my very first conversion in Lightroom. It is one of the angels on the Roman Bridge of Cordoba. Funny enough, this is one of the shots that actually turned out just as I envisioned it at the time; it was shot at night, using the Sigma 30mm wide open (f/1.4) and ISO800, using only the light of the candles burning underneath for illumination.

_MG_6724-1I might revisit this photo in the future to bump up the contrast and highlights a bit; right now I’m pretty happy with it.

This entry was posted by Carlos Ferreira.

Leave a Reply

