Pancake fever! The Canon 40mm f2.8 STM (I) on the Canon 1100D

I’m happy to announce that I am now the proud owner of that lens everyone is talking about, the Canon 40mm f/2.8 STM – also known as “the pancake” to close friends and relatives. Jenny was kind to buy me one on a recent trip to London – we couldn’t find it in stock in any of the (admittedly few) photography shops in Manchester.

Let me get to the bottom line of this post without further ado: this lens is a peach! Optically, it kicks the 18-55mm kit lens and the (way more expensive) Sigma 30mm f/1.4 into the middle of last week.

Manchester ArchitectureIt’s a great match for the 1100D: it hardly weighs anything and the autofocus is fast, quiet and responsive (way better than the Canon 50mm f1.8, but not as not as fast and silent as the Sigma 30mm f1.4). But the real star quality is the optical performance; the definition beggars belief:

Classic CarIt is also capable of producing a nice bokeh, which was a cool surprise.

Chinese Balloons BokehI shiver in anticipation just thinking what this lens could produce in a nice sunny day. Can’t wait for this Mancunian weather to improve*!

Now, all of this is very nice, but what everyone wants to know is how does the pancake rate as a tool for street photography. Fear not, I’ve been trying that out as well, and the next couple of posts will show some results. But here’s a short spoiler for those who can’t wait: it’s bloody epic! Check back soon to see what I mean.

___

*Yeah, right.

This entry was posted by Carlos Ferreira.

6 thoughts on “Pancake fever! The Canon 40mm f2.8 STM (I) on the Canon 1100D

  1. I couldn’t agree more! Some nice image the Canon 40mm 2.8 STM produce there. But is the autofocus motor making loud noise? Is it really that fast? Would you recommend the lens for video recording?

    • I am afraid I’ve never tried my hand at video, so I have no idea! Canon did say in the release that this lens was designed with video in mind, so I would expect it perform well. As I said, I find the autofocus much faster and more silent than the one of the old 50mm f/1.8 (not difficult…) and the 18-55mm kit lens. Not as fast and silent as the one on the Sigma f/1.4, though. In my personal view it is not noisy or obstructive at all.

    • Great choice! It’s a great lens, I have to say. Very good optics (better than the 50mm f/1.8, and that’s saying something) and really very versatile.

Leave a Reply

