Very little time to look back

I can scarcely believe it’s been a week month since we returned from holidays.

Lisbon evening

I’ve been working flat out on my PhD, and by the end of the day I can’t be bothered to sit in front of the computer and look at photos. I still have over 1000 photos from Portugal and Spain to organise and tag, which is a bummer.

In fact the stink goes much deeper. Back when I was using ubuntu on my laptop I was tagging and organising all photos in Shotwell, which is a fabulous piece of software, but sadly it’s only available for Linux-based OSs. When I had to revert to Windows I was stuck with using Windows Live Photo Gallery. It’s not a bad piece of software, but didn’t work for me. Now I’m using Picasa 3, and I can work with it; the problem is the backlog of un-tagged photos reaches back into August last year. Boo.

Lisbon evening 02Starbucks in Lisbon. A bit of lens distortion there? That’s shot using the cheapo 18-55mm, non-IS kit lens, so there’s no reason to get too picky.

The most unexpected moment of the holidays – having an espresso at Costa in the middle of Porto – deserves a different treatment.

Lisbon evening 03Commerce Square (Praça do Comércio), Lisbon, at sundown.

Commerce Square Lisbon

I’ve decided on a photo, taken with my Panasonic LX-3, that I want to test RAWTherapee and SilkyPix on. There’s a point I want to make about in-camera processing and what OEM software does. Let’s just see if I find the time and patience soon…

This entry was posted by Carlos Ferreira.

Leave a Reply

