Greenwich Market

You’ve heard last week about that delightful bazaar of nice food and interesting people, Greenwich Market. These are my recollections of the place.

Today’s kit: Canon 1100D camera, Sigma 30mm f/1.4 lens.

It’s a brilliant lens, the Sigma 30mm. I’ve read people telling horror stories (well, comparatively) about its lack of sharpness and the way it interacts with cameras’ metering, but I find it works pretty well and gives beautiful results, especially indoors. Very creamy tints and beautiful skin tones, even in Auto White Balance.

Then there’s the privilege of shooting a really shallow depth of field. None of these shots were taken at maximum aperture, they are all f/2.2. Plenty of blurring, but enough of a perception of depth to capture the eye.

The market is not covered, but it’s still darker than out on the street. As I wanted to keep my shutter speeds up, I increased the camera’s ISO to 400 – I honestly can’t tell the difference between photos taken at ISO 100 and ISO 400 in the 1100D, at least in the day time. Add the big aperture to this, and I was getting shutter speeds between 1/400 and 1/640 of a second.

Only when we got home did I notice I wasn’t supposed to have taken photos. Oops!

This entry was posted by Carlos Ferreira.

4 thoughts on “Greenwich Market

Leave a Reply

