Seattle: Pike Place market

Back in 2011 when I had a conference in Seattle I discovered Pike Place market. From photographers perspective it’s a delight with different colours and light settings everywhere. But more than that, it’s a great place to get a huge range of fresh food. I came here nearly every day to keep trying different places, and trying different things. It’s a bit of a long blog post this time – but I just couldn’t decide on which ones to include, and even the edited list was a bit long so I decided to include them all. For those who are interested, all were taken using the Canon 450D and the 50mm lens.

The neon coffee sign was for ‘Seattle Best Coffee’ – now a subsidiary of Starbucks which also originated in Seattle. I preferred the coffee here to Starbucks – in fact I went on a guided tour ‘coffee crawl’ and this was my favourite in the city – although there were a lot of other strong contenders.

This fish was advertising that fishmongers would deliver fish in 24 hours to where ever you wanted – and no, these were not my glasses!

Yum!

As I mentioned at the beginning, the market really is an array of colour and light.

This lady later managed to sell me chocolate flavoured  pasta – which I still haven’t cooked – apparently you serve it with ice cream.

These were dried fruit sticks, but they tasted like fresh fruit – a very strange but delightful snack!

I’ve never had to crack and clean crabs, I’m guessing it’s quite messy.

I listened to this guy for a while, and in the end bought the CD.

Mmm…cider!

So, if you’ve got this far then you’ve seen a few of the highlights of Pike Place Market. I went back nearly every day and never got bored of eating, and taking photographs. If you’re ever in Seattle go and see for yourself.

This entry was posted by Jennifer Ferreira.

Leave a Reply

